Hair Raising Issues

hairdresser-1-1429029

If you don’t have enough to be anxious about, come see me!  I have anxiety to spare.  You know how relaxing it is to go to the hair salon?  Yeah, me neither.  I know many people enjoy indulgent salons and it makes them feel special and pampered.  I think I used to enjoy them too.  I’m not sure what happened but somewhere along the way salons lost their magic for me.  I sort of equate it to going to the dentist.  Recently I paid a visit to (believe it or not) my favorite salon.  Its a mod and trendy boutique downtown.  The walls are all glossy white and decorated with pristine white sculptures and paintings.  The floor and vaulted ceilings are a dark black-clay color.  There are white fluffy faux animal skins strewn about the sitting area and I’m (still) not sure whether I am supposed to walk on them or not.  Its a tough call.  When I arrived the salon was fairly empty so I scooted past the rugs to a clearly (literally) modern rounded chair and wondered how I was supposed to let anyone know I was there.  After flipping through one of the carefully placed magazines on the (clear) glass table, a fashionable young woman slowly made her way teetering in 5 inch heels from the “back room” to the sitting area to offer me a drink.  She looked like she was floating at first glance because 1) she was wearing a white flowy top and black skinny jeans, so she matched the walls and floor and 2) I didn’t have my glasses on.  I wonder if her outfit was intentional.  Maybe she is supposed to match the decor?  Afraid of putting anyone out further, and also because I was fairly certain she wouldn’t want to walk any more than necessary I just said, “water would be great”, and of course I proceeded to head towards the wrong stylist’s chair.  After some directional advice and placement of my purse on the wall purse hanger (Is it for purses?  What is it for?  I feel like my purse is for sale on that thing).  Next up I had 2 quick “hair reviews” to see what treatments I needed to have.  I’m biting my nails just reliving my experience from that day… and this was one of the more positive ones!  Do I have haircut phobia?  Or something similar?  Is that a thing?  In any case to make it worse, I have at this point discovered that I have arrived an hour and 45 minutes late for my appointment.  (At least I showed up this time, I had already canceled once.)  I was mortified and apologized profusely.  I did not go into detail with the teetering stylists that I have a phobia of haircuts and so was doing well to be there at all.  I did however spill my water and trip on the chair mat.  They were very kind and accommodating and said they would fit in what they could.  (At least to my face, who knows behind that “back room” door.  :::stress:::) Actually my tardiness had some rewards!  Due to time constraints, I would not be able to get my full double-process coloring + cut that I usually get, but only a single process + cut.  This was excellent news because it meant I would get to leave sooner.  Yippee!  I did manage to chatter about children and weather for the better part of an hour until thankfully it was time for me to leave.  That always causes me stress too – the chatter.  Some women I know are chatter experts.  I’m just not.  I do just fine with people that I am familiar with, but I have to feel comfortable.  I was not feeling comfortable.  When I went to the restroom the faucet was internally lit with a bright blue light and I could not figure out which designer towels I should use.   In any case, it was done.  I was done for how ever many weeks I could stand it until I would have to come in to get my grays covered again.  :::deep breath:::  I’m not saying this is in any way the salon’s fault – I can own my own ‘crazy’.  I got it.  I know it.  Maybe I should figure out how to use color in a box.  Have you done that?  Good/bad results?

Be Fierce.  #OwnYourCrazy

#IamAFierceMom

Kelly

Leave a Reply

