Its my bubble

1381916_89731304

I often tell people that I live in a bubble.  I mean this in a good-humored way of course.  With the way G’s travel schedule works, I am at home with the monsners most days and with them going to two different schools on two different schedules right now, I have a limited amount of time that I could leave the vicinity of my home.  So, mostly, I stay here or very close by.  When I do travel away from my “bubble”, it always takes me a little bit of time to acclimate to being somewhere different.  I feel like I get glimpses of my former life in the big city.  Its good for me really – shakes things up now and again.  As a child I traveled so much, so often, that staying at home for any length of time was a novelty.  During two different periods of my childhood my mother considered hiring a tutor for me because I was missing so much school.  Now it seems as if the tables have completely turned.  I should maybe back up a step.  My parents were dance teachers.  My mother owned a dance studio and as I got older, I taught classes myself and performed on competition and professional teams.  I traveled all over the country and was hardly ever home.  I loved my childhood, loved the freedom I felt that I had and the new places I visited.  I thought nothing of jumping on an airplane and staying at hotels in new cities around the country, or long long car drives lasting most of the night where we would check into a hotel bleary-eyed and ready to collapse into the crisp white sheets of a new bed.  I loved truck stops!  I’m not sure what it was about them, but I used to beg my mom to let us stop to eat at a truck stop along our trips.  I still like them actually.  I loved pushing all the elevator buttons in a highrise hotel and I especially loved the hotels with glass elevators.  I did occasionally wonder about the coziness of spending regular weekends at home as I knew that so many of my classmates did, kind of in the same way you might peer into a display window of a department store.  I was so curious about what the other kids did just being at home.  As a young adult I moved around quite a bit.  It wasn’t until about 4 years ago that we bought our home here and have set down some roots.  I can’t even explain to you the way my whole being relaxed after we purchased the house.  It wasn’t necessarily the purchase OF the house, it was that I finally, finally had a permanent place to be settled.  A place to curl up and be warm against the cold winters and to come home and rest after summer travels.  I am still occasionally in a bit of wonder about the whole experience.  One of my favorite things to do at home is sit on the heated (from radiators) bench by our big picture window and look out into the blustery wind and snow.  I love being so warm and cozy against something so harsh and cold.  My house is not fancy, it is a farmhouse style and over a hundred years old.  It is very well loved and has a lot of character.  We’ve done a bit of decorating as we’re able, but nothing dramatic.  I think it fits our family’s personality very nicely.  It is enough and because of that I find that I don’t have “house envy” anymore.  It is the center of my bubble.  I gradually have let myself relax in our “new” town.  We have found a church where we feel like we belong.  We love our neighbors, all the cute little businesses and restaurants close to our home.  We use the local coffee house instead of Starbucks, we regularly visit the local bakery instead of Dunkin Doughnuts.  I am involved at the school and workout at our local Y.  I cannot leave the house without seeing someone I know and it is one of the favorite things about where I live.  I have so much joy during an impromptu coffee date with a friend after dropping the children off at school, just because we ran into each other at that moment.  I love that even without making plans, I will inevitably know someone in my Zumba class at the Y.  It has also helped me to handle my anxiety disorder while G travels so much.  I know that if I get out of the house, I will see people I know, feel more connected and less anxious.   Every year while visiting family we inevitibly get asked why in the world we live “way” up north.  This is where our puzzle piece fits.  Its where we feel at home.

Be Fierce.  Love your bubble.

#IamAFierceMom

Kelly

Leave a Reply

