DIY Spa Day

1101608_83798584

This past Monday was the first Monday of Spring Break for students in our area.  Friday was also a holiday here in observance of Good Friday and we had the Easter holiday over the weekend to rush about over.  I love holidays.  I really do, but I’m always so relieved when they’re over.

A friend of mine texted me over the weekend and said she was pretty much “done” with spring break…. and it wasn’t even Monday yet.  We decided to meet at the gym for a little do-it-yourself R & R.  After a minor debacle wherein I left my swimsuit at home and had to dash all over town to get it, I dropped off the kids at the gym childcare and made it to the pool for some doggie paddle laps.  (I didn’t have my ear plugs with me, so I needed to keep my head mostly above water.)  I tried to look dignified with a paddle board at one point, but eventually gave up.  No one was paying any attention to me anyway.  After swimming, we hit the whirlpool and then the steam room.  Ahhhh…… tension dissipating.  A long, hot leisurely toddler-free shower later and I pretty much felt like myself again.  I don’t know about yours, but my children instinctively know when I get in the shower and they instantly need me for any number of things causing multiple shower interruptions before I can even get the shampoo out of my hair.  This was a nice break.  Afterwards I even sat down with a magazine for a while until it was time for me to pick up the littles from the childcare downstairs.  I tell you, I USE that childcare at the gym down to the minute.  Really, its how I survive my summers when we’re home from traveling.  I use the childcare at the gym for my “me time”, and then I’m much more refreshed for the kiddos and we can hit the beach and picnics in the park, plus, bonus, I pretty much get forced to exercise by my kids.  LOL!

Be Fierce!  We can make it through spring break if we all support each other!  LOL!

#IamAFierceMom

Kelly

One thought on “DIY Spa Day

Leave a Reply

