I Had Trouble In Getting To Solla Sollew

dr.-seuss-quotes-10

“I have heard there are troubles of more than one kind. Some come from ahead and some come from behind. But I’ve bought a big bat! I’m all ready you see. Now my troubles are going to have troubles with me!”-I Had Trouble in Getting to Solla Sollew, Dr. Seuss

If you haven’t read this book.  Read it.  Right now.  I’ll wait.  :::::waits:::::waits::::::  There!  See how awesomely amazing that was?!  SO inspiring.  DH and I read this to our children’s classes every year.  The kids love it, we love it, it has a great message… just so much love.  I thought about this book this past week.  We had those darn swimming lessons again and by golly there we all were, all 5 of us (DH was able to work from home for a few days) on Wednesday at the pool.  After some pushing, prodding and doughnut bribes we got M in his swimsuit and down to the pool.  I swore to M that there were no fewer than 6 adults ready to dive into the pool should he look like he was not keeping his head above water.   (and then of course I had to point out which ones they were around the pool you know… precision and all.)  All 3 mons-ners were in their classes and DH and I were the only parents sitting on the bench AT the poolside leaning way over towards the water.  Giving M (and A and Miss. S too) the biggest thumbs up and cheers that we could manage and still be indoors.  I tell you what that little boy got in that water, absolutely terrified, but he did it by George.  There was some crying and some negotiation.  He refused to swim to the deep end and opted to get out and walk around to the deep end instead.  But, once there, he did jump in the water…. at the deep end, with the rest of his class, and he swam back, through the deep end to the shallow water.  Good heavens we were so proud.  SO proud that he faced his fear like that and gave it a good try.  SO proud that he didn’t just give up.  SO very proud of him for being brave.  That is such a hard lesson, to learn to face your fears and try something new while you’re scared.  Its a difficult concept even, that its OK to be scared, but also the idea that it shouldn’t necessarily stop you from doing something.  Whew.  Anyway, there was MUCH celebrating after swimming lessons that day and M indeed earned his iPad back.  On Friday, after having made several “scenes” by the pool over the course of the previous couple of weeks, DH casually asks, “You told the swim instructor that M is autistic, right?”.  Um…. oh no!  I’m not sure… “Uh, I dunno, maybe?”.  ::::face palm::::  Really??  Have I forgotten to mention this for the past 6 weeks??  O.o  So much fail.  So, dashing over to the pool right before the lesson that day I ask the instructor if we had mentioned that M was autistic and he says, “No”.  Of course.  I apologize and quickly give a few pointers for communication with M before heading up to the stands to watch the class.  In my head I am kicking myself profusely.  You see sometimes we do disclose, but sometimes we don’t.  Its hard to tell when its necessary at the beginning of an activity and it can bring up irrelevant and obsurd conversations that I try to avoid.    Obviously, there was some difficulty around week 3 with the swimming lessons so I should have disclosed and probably just thought that I had mentioned it.  M is autistic, but its not all he is.  Depending on the setting and activity, you often can’t tell that M is any different, so why bring it up?  I don’t meet people and say, “Hi, I’m Kelly, I have a moderate hearing loss”.  Right? Wouldn’t that be weird if I did that?  He is a bit different in a social group, but eh, he has really learned to use most of his quirkiness to his advantage and well, the rest of the time, it may look odd, but it certainly doesn’t bother him at all.  I love this quote, “Your curiosity, is not my problem”, and I try to keep that in mind.  (I once had a lady try to give M a diagnosis in the check-out line at the grocery store.  Seriously.  Too much time on her hands.  Buy a sukoku book or something, anything!)  I digress.  I often hear in my autism moms’ group that its two steps forward and one step back, two steps forward and one back.  That seems to be how its going for now.  Still, progress is progress!  So!  One “trouble” down!  Next up!  My troubles are going to have some trouble with me. #IamAFierceMom Kelly

One thought on “I Had Trouble In Getting To Solla Sollew

  1. I absolutely love Dr. Seuss and so do my littles…way to Fierce Mom!!! It’s really no one’s place to try and figure out a “diagnosis”…some people really do have too much time to focus on anything other then themselves.

    Like

Leave a Reply

