A blurb about cooking…

1102601_13281272

So, I’ve been trying to cook more, which is a little challenging because my monsners are at that stage where we’re in the car running to and fro most afternoons.  My solution has been the crock pot.  Now, I’m not a “crock pot queen” or anything like that – but I am definitely getting better at it.  I actually love cooking meats in it.  I think the flavors really marry well.  So far this week I have made:  Pot Roast, Chicken Provencal, Chicken Tostadas, Corn Chowder, French Toast and Chicken Noodle Soup.  (I have a lot of chicken.  LOL!)  Everything has been really really good.  The vegetables in the pot roast could have been cooked longer – they tasted more like steamed veggies, but were still very tasty.  The children have been pretty adventurous trying all the new dishes.  My oldest pretty much looks at food and then inhales it, so I’m not sure if he’s tasting it or not, but it does go down.

I would really love to try crock pot freezer cooking, where you take an afternoon and prepare a large batch of crock-pot meals, put them in freezer bags and freeze them for the week, but 1) we have a fashionable, but small new refrigerator (our previous one was too big to fit properly in our kitchen) and 2) I don’t have the time to dedicate to putting it all together once a week.  Oh well.  I seem to have small blocks of time in the morning – so I’m sort of doing everything fresh every morning.  Kind of nice.  Kind of unexpected.  Also – I should mention, this is absolutely out of character for me.  I’m not a cook.  My mother wasn’t a cook.  Although she did cook for entertaining at holiday parties etc.  I’ve never really learned or had an interest in cooking until now.  I’m not even sure that I’m actually interested in it!  Its just something that one day I started doing and I’ve sort of kept it up.  Now, its only been about a week, so we’ll see, but I really like it.  I don’t mind all the prep work, in fact, its kind of fun.  I’ve even gotten past the, “omg-I’m-using-every-dish-in-my-kitchen” phobia.  I love that I can make something that tastes loving, and not out of a box.  I love how it feels to me to be able to give that to my family.  I really hope I can continue on with this, even if my pace slows down a little after the excitement of new kitchen gadgetry has worn off.

Be Fierce.  In the Kitchen.

#IamAFierceMom

Kelly

Leave a Reply

