Playing Grown-Up

Have you ever heard that if you smile, even when you don’t feel like it, you will eventually feel happy?  (or at least happier?)  Its supposed to be true.  So, I’m trying this.  I’m going to pretend that I feel like a mature adult and hope that I eventually actually feel that way.  Think it will work?  Yeah, I know, I’m not 100% convinced either, but I’m going to give it a go.  

First day of school went so smoothly for my mons-ners, M seems to have jumped back in like he’d been gone a week.  A switch went off in his head and suddenly he’s in school mode.  Awesome-sauce.  “A” seems to be enjoying it, but more gradually easing into the routine, in the meantime enjoying his new lunchbox and new salad box to bring to school.  (He loves salad so much, he asked if he could start bringing it for lunches.  As long as he eats, I don’t feel like I can complain.)  Miss. S had her meeting with her preschool teacher and she will start in about a week or so.  We’re enjoying some quality time together this week.  I did however find out the afternoon of the first day that M has a special education T.A. that I am not really on good terms with.  We don’t have a good history.  I tried to think of how to handle the situation and went over a bunch of scenarios in my head.  The best I could come up with was to start out on a positive note and hope that the situation works well for M.  I mean, after all, its not really my situation.  It’s M’s.  He has different relationships than I do.  He can make friends on his own, he can handle his own schoolwork (when at school anyway), and I am just going to take a deep breath and wait it out.  The T.A. seems to have a good rapport with him and I feel like she’s a good person, its just me that she’s not nuts about and you know, that’s ok, as long as that doesn’t interfere with anything and I’m going to go for positive and say that I think its going to be ok.  The “mama bear” approach isn’t going to always work and we’re all in this together for the next handful of years so I think erring on the side of caution and good intention is my best choice.  As a friend of mine just reminded me, its difficult being a parent and being a special needs parent sort of ups the ante on that.  I feel like I always need to be there for M, always explain things for him, sort things out for him, but you know, I’m not always going to be there and although he handles situations differently than I would, he is now old enough to be able to speak for himself at least a little bit.  So, I’ll keep tabs on things and monitor his progress and we’ll see.  Mature adult on the outside, crazy childish ravings on the inside.  Yay me!  

It also helps me that I was reminded recently of how fortunate I am to have children in the first place and to be able to stay at home to have these challenges/opportunities to conquer.  I’m glad that I have my problems.  Actually that is not true.  I am thankful that I have my challenges.  

And let’s see – the Man burns in 3 days at Burning Man.  

I am on day 10 of 16 of being on my own with the mons-ners and it has gotten substantially easier with school being in session! Plus, I have an evening out with friends tomorrow, so I’m excited about that.  Also, I think we’re past the “scariness’ of the transition from summer to school schedule, so *whew*!  Transitions.  Transitions are hard and I don’t know about yours, but really hard for my kiddos.  

Alrighty, well I will say a little prayer that our school situation works out and I hope all of you are enjoying settling into the very beginning of the school season.  

 

Leave a Reply

